Aloha Festivals 72nd Annual Floral Parade

fokopoint-6322 Aloha Festivals 72nd Annual Floral Parade

The Aloha Festivals 72nd Annual Floral Parade took place yesterday morning along the streets of Ala Moana Boulevard and Kalakaua Avenue in Honolulu. This event featured a colorful procession of pau horseback riders, floats covered with Hawaiian flowers, Hawaiian music, hula halau and local marching bands.

The Aloha Festival Floral Parade route extended over a course of three and a half miles, beginning at Ala Moana Park. The marching bands, floats and horse units proceeded in the direction of Diamond Head, traveling at a slow pace down Ala Moana Boulevard to Kalakaua Avenue, and ending at Kapahulu Avenue in Waikiki.

fokopoint-6075-300x201 Aloha Festivals 72nd Annual Floral Parade

Among the participants at the 2008 Floral Parade were Congresswoman Colleen Hanabusa, the Kamehameha High School Marching Band, the 2018 Little League World Champions, the Hawaii Tourism Authority, Hawaiian Airlines, the Royal Hawaiian Center, Hawaiian 105 KINE, City & County of Honolulu Mayor Kirk Caldwell, the Royal Hawaiian Band, actress Amy Hill from CBS’s Magnum P.I., the Office of Hawaiian Affairs with Chairperson Colette Machado, Bonnie Kahapea of the Kanehunamoku Voyaging Academy, Hawaiian Telecom, the Castle High School Marching Band, the Kamehameha Alumni Association and its alumni president, Brendon Kaleiaina Lee, the Kamehameha Class of 1959 with Luther Kahaolii, Miss Universe 1997 Brook Lee, Princess Sharon Au-Curtis and First Princess Helen Kuoha-Torco, the Queen Liliuokalani Keiki Hula Competition with Master Keiki Hula Justin Paredes, Partners in Development Foundation, the U.S. Army Native Hawaiian Advisory Council with Colonel Tom Barrett of the USA Garrison Command and his wife Jill Barrett.

fokopoint-6017-300x201 Aloha Festivals 72nd Annual Floral ParadeAlso featured were Hawaiian Music Hall of Fame board of director and inductee Daniel K. Akaka Jr, The Arc, the Palisades Suns Elementary Aloha Hula, Miss Hawaii 2018 Penelope Ng Pack, Miss Hawaii’s Outstanding Teen 2018 Sophia Stark, the Hawaii YouTubeh Opera Chorus, the Pearl Harbor Hawaiian Civic Club with Kau’i Kaleo, the Oahu Council with vice president Ululani Beirne, the Hawaiian Civic Club of Honolulu, the Miss Chinese Jaycee’s Queen, the Waianae Hawaiian Civic Club with Rochelle Nohea Kawelo, the Koolauloa Hawaiian Civic Club with Ipolani Thompson, Pualoke Dela Cerna, Haleaha Montes, and Jolene Peapealalo,  the Radford High School Marching Band, the King Kamehameha Hawaiian Civic Club, the Association of Hawaiian Civic Clubs Lualualei, Pearl City Elementary School, the Hawaii Academy of Recording Arts, the Sing Yung Dragon and Lion Dance Association, the Aloha Chinese Concept Association, the Miss Hawaii Chinese Princesses, Territorial Airwaves, the Moana Lua High School Marching Band, the Micronesians of We Are Oceana, Miss Central Oahu Kanoe Shizuru and Miss Leward Oahu Arielle Rathburn, Ka Wai O Ke Ola with Lorna Kometani, USA National Miss Jr Teen 2018 Naia Torres, Miss Bikini Hawaii Mikayla Soto, Miss Hawaii Plus, Miss Latina Hawaii, AirAsia Airlines, and the Flokral Parade chair Toni Lee and co-chair Charles Kapua.

%d bloggers like this: